Member Club History

The Eastern Districts Junior Cricket Association, or more formally Zone 4 EDJCA,  was officially formed in 1973 under its first president Bill Kessell. Incorporation occurred on 23rd May 1990 under then president John Pender and Secretary Ron Hall. Its mission was to promote and coordinate junior cricket in the Eastern Suburbs District Cricket Club area.  Two of its founding affiliated clubs were Mt Gravatt District Cricket Club based at Mt Gravatt Australian Rules Grounds and Eastern Suburbs District Cricket Club based at Bottomley Park, Coorparoo.

In 1995, Zone 5 of Qld Cricket whose clubs included Vikings (subsequently re-formed as Carindale Cougars 2006-7), St Oswalds, Wynnum District Cricket JCC and Mater Hill Cricket Club was absorbed by Zone 4 EDJCA as a result of several clubs ceasing operations and the Eastern Suburbs District Cricket Club moving to Wellington Point and renaming itself Easts-Redlands District Cricket Club and later Redlands Cricket Inc. 

Both Zone 4 EDJCA Inc. and Redlands Cricket Inc. Juniors now play under the Bayside Easts & Redlands (BEARS) zone of QLD Cricket with BEARS managing the U-13 to U-17 competitions and EDJCA and Redlands managing their respective U-9/10 to U-12 competitions.

Today, EDJCA coordinates the U-9 to U-12 competitions involving Bulimba CC, Carina JCC (affiliated with Mater Hill CC), Holland Park JCC, Mansfield JCC, Villanova College (pre-Christmas) and Wynnum Manly District JCC.  The Mt Gravatt District Cricket Club ceased operations at the end of 2007-8 season when it ran out of teams and was absorbed by Holland Park JCC and Carindale Cougars Cricket Club (formerly known as Vikings) ceased operations at the end of 2008-9 season and the remaining players absorbed by the other clubs in EDJCA.


Note - Redlands clubs data incomplete for U10-U12 prior to 2011-12.